Now What?

by Anselm

I’m not sure I’m the only one who gets the feeling of  “now what” after Lent ends. There is no doubt that Eastertide is quite important, but the days within the Octave feel strange to me, as I find it hard to transition out of my Lenten practices.

Holy Week was fruitful for many reasons. For one, I was able to attend 2/3rds of the Tridduum liturgies in the Extraordinary Form at Mater Ecclesiae in Berlin, New Jersey.

The Easter Vigil in the Extraordinary Form is quite possibly the most beautiful thing this side of the other side. It’s also the best example that I’ve experienced that really shows the obvious disparity between the Ordinary Form and the Extraordinary Form.

I’ve never understood the argument that the Extraordinary Form is just about “smells and bells.”

The Extraordinary Form re-affirms Catholicism with a forceful clarity.

 

 

 

 

 

