Unfinished Review: Purgatory Explained by the Lives and Legends of the Saints by Fr. F.X. Schouppe

by Anselm

I’ve been reading the above title on my kindle for a few weeks at the rate of a couple of pages at a time. One thing that is remarkable about the book is the harmony and similarities found between Saints’ visions and experiences that have occurred centuries apart.

The other thing about this book is it reminds you not only what is at stake, but how high the bar is set for us.

It’s also unsettling to read at times, which also has the aforementioned effects.

I don’t get the idea that this text was written to scare people straight, so to speak.

It just presents evidence.

I may post a more in-depth review whenever I finish.

Until then, be good. There’s a lot of work to do. The stakes are a lot higher than what the watery Modernists would lead you to believe.

 

