Letters to the Editor: Catholic Edition?

by Anselm

Whenever I see a letter to the editor that addresses some kind of Catholic issue I get a knot in my stomach. More often than not, the letters published in the mainstream-feedtube media are colored with anti-Catholic tendencies.

Yet, those tendencies are more often just manifestations of not understanding what the Catholic faith entails.

In the Baltimore Sun today there was a letter published under the heading A Catholic’s dilemma: To support love or the church?

My first reaction to that question was “the church of course!”  (Because the church is love.)

After spending some time reading the letter, I decided that the writer suffers from some misunderstanding.

An interesting portion of the letter is when the author recounts her feelings during a homily that re-affirmed Catholic teaching on marriage:

I immediately felt as though I were surrounded by uninformed, insensitive individuals, none of whom I could relate to in any way, none of whom knew God as a loving being.

I guess this is a normal reaction to someone who does not understand the position of the church.

The author then recounts her witnessing of a child’s baptism, which leads her to this question and thought:

How, though, can we be so about love and oppose such an issue as gay marriage? To restate, not even the most comprehensive baptismal vows have anything opposing a marriage between two people who love each other. In fact, I would consider it wicked to disallow this.

For ten extra credit points, find the problem in the quotation above.

But wait, there’s more!

As the author’s thesis is:

I struggle with the dichotomy of supporting love and supporting my religion.

The Unholy Nation Department of Dichotomy Studies believes that there is also a problem with the dichotomy of love. There is simply a major problem with the definition of love. There is a problem with the abuse of the word love. There is also a problem with this following line in the letter:

We were born a secular country, and as a faithful Catholic, I hope that religion never is able to change this.

That reminds me of something:

No man can serve two masters. For either he will hate the one, and love the other: or he will sustain the one, and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon (Matthew 6:24).

The author claims that she is a Catholic, which is something that I cannot substantiate. This is why these letters to the editor make my stomach uneasy, because to a degree they are an indication of the Catholic faith in America.

Although I like to dig into the comments on internet articles, I am going to refrain from them this time.

Pray that we all may see the Truth in our everyday lives, especially at the moments when we most need to.


