Quick Review: AA-1025

by Anselm

AA-1025 is a small volume published by TAN/St. Benedict Press.

The book has been around for a while and from what I can tell it has gone through many printings.

It also seems to have somewhat of a small following in terms of positive reviewers.

The problem with the book is that it presents itself as a non-fiction text. However, some read it as a fiction a la Malachi Martin.

I can see how this book caused a stir when it was published.

Sadly, as evidenced in the state of Catholic affairs today, many of the controversial elements described in the book have come to pass. So when I read them, I was able to recognize them and my experience brushing into them in my life. So instead of the “be on the look out” mentality that readers in the late 1970s must have had, I had the “I’ve seen that, and that, and that, and that” mentality.

I found parts of the book believable, but then other parts of the book were hokey and cheap feeling. The protagonist is a communist ninja.  All right, that’s a little stretch on my part–but only a little.

I would think that if the protagonist was as much as a smooth-operator as he thought he was, that he wouldn’t have written such an ego drenched memoir. Sometimes the book is more about how the protagonist thinks of himself, rather than the implications of his plans. It gets to the point that if I was one of his followers I would have said,”dude, you are obviously not 100% for the cause because you talk about yourself too much.” In addition, I don’t think the “I’m writing this down and nobody is ever going to see it” schtick works. Why write it down?

Undoubtedly, there are things in the book that will make a good Catholic reader step back and think for a moment or two, but if you are already tuned-in to the present crises in the Church, you won’t be too affected by this text–it’s nothing you have not heard before in some form or another.  Of course, there are a few things that haven’t come to pass yet like the cafeteria table mass settings. Although, if you think about the Neocatechumenal way…

Still, for what it’s worth the book is an interesting read and a quick read.

Yet, I don’t think the present crises in the church have such mysterious causes. It’s disobedience, bad philosophy, bad theology, aggiornamento, &c.

Let’s not forget the fallen state of man, and of course, Satan.

